AGMs and awards the order of the day for Harps and Dalriada


TÍR Conaill Harps didn’t let Covid-19 restrictions get in the way of their usual end of year activities, with both their AGM and awards ceremonies taking place virtually as they ensured life at the club continues.

With officers at the club being elected for the crucial positions in an uncertain year, Harps will benefit from the stability of many being re-elected and offering their time and efforts for the benefit of the club.

Chairperson Anton Gallagher retained his position, and welcomed the interest which was evident from the many club members who joined the virtual meeting.

“Following the club AGM, we would like to thank everyone who took the time to join our video meeting,” he said. “The 2021 committee were selected by the members, with the large majority of the committee retaining their positions within the club framework. Most notable change to the committee is Christina Duffy now stepping in as Club Secretary. Departing Club Secretary Seana Gallagher has done a great job in the two years she has been in the position and the club can’t thank her enough for the time and effort she put in since January 2019.

“Aiden Main now steps into the coaching officer role, which we look forward to putting the plans in place for 2021 when we hope to increase numbers our underage section even more than before and build on the foundations now set. The committee are excited to get started on planning for 2021 and hopefully we can develop the club even more than we have done in the last 2 years.”

The list of new officers in full is: Anton Gallagher, Chairperson; David Boucher, Vice Chair; Christina Duffy, Secretary; Pauline Mefford, Assistant Secretary; Seana Gallagher, Treasurer; Paul Mefford, Assistant Treasurer; Aiden Main, Coaching Officer; Shaun O’Donnell, Fundraising Officer; Paul Doogan, PRO; and Mark Wilson, Child Protection Officer.

Reflecting on the level of support which the club received in a testing year, Mr Gallagher offered his thanks to all those who got behind Tír Conaill Harps and those who are already working hard for the club’s future.

“Thanks again to all the players, coaches, parents, volunteers and sponsors,” he said. “Most notably Advance Construction who have continued to support our club more than ever this year and it has been greatly appreciated. Everyone gave their time in 2020 under difficult circumstances. We hope you are all ready and willing to do it all again in 2021. Stay safe and have a great Christmas and New Year!”

Without the possibly of hosting their annual awards night, Tír Conaill Harps used the club’s AGM as an opportunity to recognise those who have made an impact on the club, with Chris Coll and Donie O’Donnell (above) each receiving an award.

“The winner of the John Porter Volunteer of the year award was presented to Chris Coll,” the club said. “Chris’ roles this year include Club Photographer and he created a new website so the club can fundraise online. Donie O’Donnell was added to the Club Hall of Fame. Donie was one of the founders of the club and was instrumental in developing the club’s youth set up. “Congratulations to both men who more than deserve their awards.”

Dalriada GFC meanwhile hosted their own AGM, with a concerted effort to ensure that Britain’s most northerly GAA club emerges from the pandemic restrictions in a strong position.

Having taken on the strains of travelling from Aberdeen for matches in the midst of Covid-19, the suspension and cancellation of the Gaelic football season was keenly felt by the club. Spirits were not to be dampened for too long, though, and the club is already preparing itself for next year.

At their AGM new officers for the coming year were elected and a fruitful discussion was had on the topic of the club’s strategy going forward and how they can interact with the local Irish community to strengthen and develop Irish culture in their region.

The committee members elected for 2021 were; Peter Mossey, Chairman; Finbarr McCarthy, Secretary; Patrick Sweeney, Vice-Secretary; Michael Jordan, Treasurer; Gavin Byrne, Dan Shanahan and Brian Docherty, PRO; Niall Horkin, Fixtures; Shaun McBride; Officer for Irish Language and Culture; and Patrick Sweeney and Gavin Byrne, Covid-19 supervisors.